Forgiven. Sweet memory from heartache to Delight.

‘Stone of remembrance’ verse from long ago.

Came across it in my daily reading thisSunflower journal3 morning. It had a vagueness of familiarity to it so I stopped and thought for a bit. What is in this verse? That feels so familiar and soothing!

From the NLT I was reading in it was worded:

“When I discovered your words, I devoured them. They are my joy and my heart’s delight, for I bear your name,” Jeremiah 15:16 NLT

As I first memorized it in KJV:

“Thy words were found and I did eat them and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of my heart for I am called by thy name.

Ahhh…. yes a time of finding His Words and devouring them after searching, looking for that thing needed for the ache in my heart. And finding it in His Word! A sweet memory that broke through the mental darkness that has become the state of my memory bank nowadays.

Actions and circumstances in life had brought me to a place of sorrow, heartache, regret, and in need of forgiveness. From another, for myself, but ultimately from God. For He is the one truly offended in our actions of wrong doing and hurting others, i.e. sin. Though others usually are involved as ones offended by our words or actions, God is the foremost one we are offending by not heeding His ways, His Words. Though in those moments I hadn’t yet grasped the full understanding of that truth, that need. I just knew there was a need, for something to be made right. And God was part of the answer.

The memory goes back to a day LONG ago. At that particular time I was not walking in relationship with The Lord though I had come to Christ in salvation many years before in High School.  For whatever reasons at the time (youth, immaturity, life) I put Him aside to go my own way with no thoughts to His ways or Words. Enter the the mind frame, the actions producing this sorrow, heartache, regret and deep seated need within!

Then, came this day. Realization dawns. What I was seeking and needing at that point was God. There was the understanding that my actions had been a direct result of turning away from God and not allowing Him to be part of my daily life.  At the time the bulk of our belongings were in storage in another state. And my Bible had been packed away not used for several years anyway. No idea where it may be. But His Word was found in the form of an Army New Testament given to my husband whepsalm 103 2 alonen he enlisted.  I sat down to read soaking in all I could and then – these next words – I devoured these
Words:

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

THAT WORD –
Alljumped off the page into my heart with such joy and delight!  There is nothing God cannot or will not forgive for in His Son we receive forgiveness of sin. PERIOD. ALL – past, present, and future! At the moment of my salvation I had not committed ALL the sins I would commit and God knew that. Salvation does not bring perfection in this life as much as we would like it to be so.

In that one word was the healing balm for the sorrow, heartache and regret stored within my heart. ALL is forgiven. What a glorious day that was. Today,  as I read Jeremiah 15:16 and stopped to ask the Lord what was there that felt so familiar, it was the same joy and rejoicing of that day 30 or so years ago. For all who are called by His name, have His forgiveness. Not just in the moment of initial belief and salvation but FOREVER! Through the remainder of this life into eternity. Forgiveness of sin IS what salvation IS all about. The blood of Christ covers it ALL!! It matters noAllt the sin committed or the time it is committed. ALL is forgiven.

I hope you have experienced the joy of receiving His forgiveness. It’s there for the taking for any and all who will confess and believe.

” …that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.”  Romans 10:9

“Therefore let it be known to you, brethren, that through this Man is preached to you the forgiveness of sins; and by Him everyone who believes is justified from all things from which you could not be justified by the law…” Acts 13:38

Until next timeShell Sig

Leave a Reply

