The I AM

I think I miss writing. Perhaps Easter is a good time to begin ablog picgain. Who is this man who is celebrated at this time as one risen from the dead?

In seeking a direction I came across something written last year
at this time as I was going through a study entitled  The God Questions by Hal Seed.

An interesting question was posed: What does it mean to ‘know’ someone?  In the study several verses had been presented to read in which it becomes clear that  Jesus was teaching that really knowing Him gives us knowledge of God the Father.

First in John 14:8-10 we read that Jesus had told the apostles that He would be going to be with the Father. Philip then asks him to show them the father. Jesus’  response: to know me is to know my Father.

Then in John 8:54-58 Jesus tells the Jewish questioners with regard to his identity: “… before Abraham was, I AM.” At which point the Jews picked up stones to stone Him. Why? Because I AM is who God said He was. Way back in history when the people of Israel were slaves in Egypt and God chose Moses to be their deliverer, Moses asked God whom He should say sent Him when the people asked. “God replied to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. Say this to the people of Israel: I AM has sent me to you.” Exodus 3:14.  So, Jesus, in saying I AM – was equating Himself to God.  I AM. Did you know there are 7 I AM statements made by Jesus in the book of John in the new Testament. There is a good study by Lysa Turkeurst titled: Finding I Am, in which she addresses each of the statements. Helping us to better understand Jesus as well as God the Father. Interestingly, the first statement in sequence in the book of John deals with the well known staple for John 6 35 alonehuman sustenance – bread. He declares Himself to be THE BREAD OF LIFE.

How bold of Him to declare such a thing. Or is He a demented lunatic? May you be bold enough to gather the info needed to make an informed decision of your own. And embrace what you find to be true, even if it goes against the grain of today’s culture.

In thinking about this statement another one came to mind. Matthew 4:4                                                                           Here Jesus is saying it is the Word of God alone through which man needMatthew 4 4s to receive sustenance for life. Hmmm… contradiction?

Not if one is willing to read more and search the matter out a bit further. For in the book of John again we read:                                   “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made.  In Him was life, and the life was the light of men…And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”

Who was the only begotten of the Father you ask? I believe you probably know. Yes, you know. John 3:16. Jesus – the only begotten Son. 

Man does not live by physical bread but by God’s Word. Jesus the only begotten of the Father is the Word become flesh. He is the bread of LIFE. ETERNAL LIFE. In the very presence of God when this physical life ends – LIFE.

It is only through Jesus, the Word, the bread of life that one has access to the Father and life eternal when this physical body passes away.

In that day we shall see Jesus as He is for we shall be like HIM. I John 3:2

       “Do not labor for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to                                              everlasting life, which the Son of Man will give you, because God the  Father has set His seal on Him.” John 6:27

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me   has everlasting life, and shall not come into judgment, but has passed from death into life.” John 5:24

UGrace Acrostic horizontalntil next time…May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace.

 

beach sig

 

 

One thought on “The I AM

  1. Pingback: I AM (Pt. 6)

Leave a Reply

